Looking into the mirror

March 2, 2009 at 12:05 am (Emotions) (, )

Every time I look into the mirror I dislike what I see a little more each time.  I only have one mirror in my house and it’s in the bathroom.  I don’t look in it very often and I honest wish I could cover it forever.  When I’m at the Y I choose the treadmill that isn’t in front of the mirrors and if it’s occupied I do my best not to look.

I’m not really sure when I started hating mirrors but I’ve never been very confident in myself.  I don’t feel beautiful or sexy.  I can’t seem to figure it all out.  When I do look into a mirror I want to look away.   Where is my neck?  Why do I have hair on my face?  Why does my smile always look fake?

1 Comment

  1. Rachel said,

    Part of loving yourself and getting healthy is seeing yourself for who you are. I remember being shocked when I saw a picture of myself. That can’t be me, I scoffed. But it was. And it was an impetus to change and become who I felt I was inside. (((HUGS))) You won’t gain anything by turning away or pretending that your reflection doesn’t exist. Face it, and go from there.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

